Have you ever…

There once was a game (maybe it’s still around) that was call “I’ve never…” and you would fill in the blank with something you’ve never done before. It’s a combo of musical chairs…without the music and running to a different chair because you’ve DONE (or haven’t done) what the person in the middle hasn’t. There is  a chair taken away each round, so if you are the last one to find a chair you are now “it”. You sit in a big circle and the person that is “it” is the one saying, “I’ve never”.

Hopefully, you get the picture now. Not sure why I felt the need to fully explain this game to you all.

 In middle school it might be, “I’ve never worn braces!”

In high school it might be, “I’ve never been to Hawaii!”

In college it might…well hopefully you weren’t playing this unless it was a camp and you were the counselor 🙂

So you get the picture right? All this to say, ever since becoming a mom and even before then I don’t find myself saying, “I’ve never..” but more so ASKING the question, “Have you ever….?” just HOPING to find that surely, SURELY I am not the only one who doesn’t do it this way but does it that way.  Or the ONLY one who thinks a certain way about this certain topic.

It got me to thinking (after the millionth time of asking this question to family members, co-workers friends, and heck even random conversations that get started in the grocery store..not kidding) WHY do I need to know that other people are doing the same thing as me? Thinking the same way as me?

What happened to being comfortable in your own ideas, thoughts…your own skin? Why am I not all the time? Why am I so concerned that I will be the only one doing/thinking something?

Now one of two things end up happening after these questions are asked. 

1.  I am pleased and happy because that person happened to think the same way as me! (pat on the back)

2. I am discouraged, stressed out and coming down hard on myself because lo and behold not everyone thinks the same way as me and I MUST be in the wrong! (tear)

Now, I am obviously being a bit dramatic in the response but seriously to some degree-that’s what my response is.

And before I go any further is not a BAD thing to ask other people about their thoughts and ideas about things. It’s actually a good thing. You learn from other peoples thoughts and ideas. MY issue with is it my purpose in asking in (to feel valued etc.) and MY response internally at times to what they say…

It really all boils down to comparison. You may have seen this pic floating around on pinterest

 

Image

 

This statement is truer than true. 

I am learning through many different ways-and then doing my best to remember:)…that if I work hard and do my very best with the jobs the Lord as given me (being a wife, a mom, teacher)-that is all that is asked of me.  It might not be done the way others would do it, but that’s ok because I am not like everyone else in this world. YOU are not like everyone else in this world. Because of that we inadvertently (is this even the right word? It sounds good haha!) will think and do things differently from others. Praise God we are not all the same and he made us all unique individuals with different gifts and talents. 

Galations 6:4-5 (message version) says it this way 

“Make a careful exploration of who you are and the work you have been given, and then sink yourself into that. Don’t be impressed with yourself. Don’t compare yourself with others. Each of you must take responsibility for doing the creative best you can with your own life”

This may not make sense to any of you who read this and that’s ok. Just my thoughts swirling around and honestly sometimes I just need to type to get it out. SO on that note…happy friday!

Oh and I promise more Libby pics will be up soon. Poor thing has been sick about 3 different times in the past month-so that plus moving…7 month pictures have not been on the radar. Hopefully this weekend 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Have you ever…

  1. Cori says:

    Love this post and your thoughts! Thanks for sharing! One of the Jesus Calling devos from this week was about this exact thing! So thankful for you and that we get to experience this crazy being a mom thing together!

  2. Shanna says:

    What a great reminder! Thanks for sharing and your honesty. I love your transparency!
    Also, I want to catch up sooooooo bad!!!
    Love you friend!

Leave a Reply

